And So it Begins…

First off, I’d like to point out that coming up with what to write for the first entry in a blog is harder than it seems. If you do a Google search, you’ll find loads of articles about what to write on your first blog post. Who knew that it was so nerve-racking?

I’m a fairly new gamer and played my first tabletop role-playing game in the fall of 2008 with the Wittenberg University Role-playing Guild. It was a Dungeons & Dragons 4e scenario and I was pleased as punch with Paelias, my Level 1 Eladrin Warlord. I quickly discovered how much I enjoyed role-playing games and it wasn’t long before I took up the GM’s hat. Since then, I’ve played and GMed a number of systems. I have a lot of favorites now, mostly “cinematic” systems, but there are a lot that I enjoy running and playing.

Because I started gaming and GMing fairly recently, I don’t think that I’m anywhere close to being an expert. However, I don’t feel like I’m a newbie any more either. I’m somewhere in between. Fortunately, there’s a word for that: journeyman.

Webster defines journeyman as “a worker who has learned a trade…” and “an experienced, reliable worker, athlete or performer…” Usually they are distinguished as being experienced, but not a master in their work, which is right where I feel I am now: a Journeyman GM. Or if you prefer, you can think of me as a time-traveller, as in the Journeyman TV series or The Journeyman Project computer games (huge gold star to you if you played them!).

I plan to mostly write about GMing in role-playing games and my thoughts and experiences about it, as well as being on the player’s side (because that’s important to becoming a better GM too). Sometimes I may write about the role-playing game hobby in general or give reviews of certain products. I may even write something completely unrelated just because I feel like it (hey, it’s my blog after all).

I’ve learned a lot from other RPG blogs that I’ve read and I hope that in sharing my experience through my own blog, I’ll be able to help others in the same way. And I’m sure that I’ll learn a lot myself too. As Seneca put it, docendo discimus (we learn by teaching).

So all that said: here’s to the start of an interesting, educating, and amusing blog devoted to tabletop role-playing games!

Posted on June 10, 2011, in General and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’d suggest reading the Wiki at the RPG Blog Alliance organization website, http://www.rpgba.org/. They have a number of tips for new bloggers, and there’s an entire community at your fingertips if you have additional questions.

    Good luck with your new blog! Looking forward to reading more, and glad you’ve jumped on the RPG blogger bandwagon.

  2. Thanks for the advice! I’ll be sure to look into it!

  3. Wow, I hadn’t realized you were so new to all this, I thought you’d been playing and Dming for a lot longer. Well, can’t wait to see what else I’ll learn here 😀

Leave a Reply

